Dr. Brenda Bateman

Oregon Water Resources Department

Contact Details

Oregon Water Resources Department


Dr. Brenda Bateman is the Technical Services Division Administrator for the Oregon Water Resources Department, where she chairs the state's Drought Readiness Council and serves a key role in the development of Oregon's Integrated Water Resources Strategy (first adopted in August 2012; updated in 2017).  Dr. Bateman is AWRA's 2018 President.  She chaired AWRA's Policy Committee from 2005 to 2013, leading the development of a series of water resource policy statements (adopted and posted on-line by AWRA's Board of Directors), as well as a 2012 set of case studies focused on Integrated Water Resources Management, and a 2013 set of case studies focused on the status of drought and flood policy in the United States . She served as the General Co-Chair of AWRA's Annual Conference in Portland, Oregon (2013 and 2017) and has served as Vice-Chair of AWRA's Oregon Section. She received AWRA's Ivan A. Johnson Award for Young Professionals in 2008, and AWRA's Henry P. Caulfield, Jr., Medal for contribution to national water policy in 2013.